Quote of the Week – Patience

The quote to think about this week is:

“A moment of patience in a moment of anger can help us avoid a thousand moments of sorrow.” by Imam Ali

Patience is difficult for most of us.  We always seem to be in a rush and in a hurry to do what we need to do.  We are often quick to react to what people say and do.  How would our world be different if everyone stopped to think before acting?

Watch the video below and listen to the story about a taxicab driver and an elderly woman.

Students: Reply to this post with your thoughts about patience. When do you think it is important to be patient? Explain why.

34 thoughts on “Quote of the Week – Patience

  1. That was a very nice thing to do for that 90 yr old elderly
    woman.You always should be patience with other people because that would be a very good . You should not always
    be patience with everybody that needs help.Patience is a great thing to do!

    • I agree that it is important to be patient with people. Like the quote said, being patient will help us to avoid hurt feelings. Can you think of a specific time when you were patient?

      • I think the taxi driver was vary patient because she walked to the door helped her with her bags and took the long way and stopped at her favourite places from when she was a child and it made the old lades day.

  2. wow that was very very VERY nice of you for that lady.
    I don,t think she can do it by her self. You are vary
    nice woman you should us patient. Like at trafic in a long
    line that happened to me and my dad

    • I agree with you, Pearson. We do need to be patient when there are long lines of traffic. What do you think would happen if people weren’t patient when there is a lot of traffic?

  3. this is when you should be patient when you wateing for your diner or something.there was a time when I wasent patent wateing for my diner.it is inportent to be patent because if your not patent you will start to fell grumpe.

  4. I think that was a vary nice thing to do for that old lady because I do not think she can drive and walk that far.It is nice to be patience because then everyone would be shouting out and saying give me that and they would not wait for anything.

    • I agree, the taxi driver was nice. What do you think would have happened if he hadn’t been patient and nice to the lady?

  5. I think it is a good time to be patient, when you get inviaded to a brethday party. And you wait and wait . I think it is a good time because you have to wait.

  6. That video was good because she helped instead of going past her but she walked up to her and stop at the things for her to look at then she went to where she was going.

    • It was good that the taxicab driver did help. What do you think would have happened if he hadn’t been patient and helpful?

  7. that was very VERY nice of that man to say
    “nothing” to money.And also he stopped every place the old lady wanted to stop.She was very VERY nice

    • Yes, the taxi driver was very nice. Remember, the question asked about patience. Think of a time when it would be important to have patience. What would our classrooom be like if we didn’t show patience to each other?

  8. I think it was very nice of that man to be nice to that woman because people don’t do that anymore. If I were that lady I would have paid the man anyways. If that woman saw that taxi driver they would probably be very happy. You need to have patience when you are at a traffic light because you might drive forward and crash.

    • I agree, you do need patience when you are driving. Now, think about when it is important to have patience when you are interacting with other people. What would your friendships be like if you didn’t show patience to each other?

  9. That was very kined of her because the shift was over and she helped an old pore sad lady. she drove for 2 howrs so she shows patience to her.

    • Yes, the taxi driver did show patience. When do you think it is important to be patient? Why is having patience an important skill?

  10. I think it was nice to help that old lady go to all the places that she was taken when she younger when she was off her job. Then she took her to the hospice.

    • I agree that it was a nice thing for the taxi driver to do. What do you think would have happened if the driver had not been patient enough to drive to all those places?

  11. No patience is bad. Patience is good. You want to be patient. You don’t want to not patient. When somebody takes awhile you need to be patient because if you just get up and leave then they won’t like it and you won’t be there. They might be a little worried.

  12. That was kind of her because most taxi drivers wold go home. and she even drove for two hours after her shift was over. and she did as she was told go a littel faster yes yes i will ms gust for you.

  13. Being patient is easy. Let’s do it together. It is important to be patient when somebody said they were going to meet you somewhere and you have to be patient and wait for them to come. It is important to be patient because you don’t want to go to your friend and say, “Hey, you did not come very fast!”

  14. it is important to be patient because then the world will be hard to understand.I was not patience when I was going to a hockey game and my sister asked to come and she took too long to come , I was not patient.I was patient when I was trick or treating,an old man went to the door slowly,I wanted him to get faster but he didn’t so I stayed there and
    then he opened the door and gave me candy

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *